Allan Mere Award for 1996:

Dr Warwick Harris

Left: Dr Warwick Harris, Allan Mere recipient for 1996.
Right: Dr Harris alongside his colleagues and other Allan Mere recipients Bill Sykes, Neville Moar, Brian Molloy, Elizabeth Edgar, and Henry Connor at Henry’s 90th birthday celebration.
Photos: © Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research.

“Dr Harris, previously a scientist with Grasslands Division, was appointed director on 9 August 1982, and guided Botany Division through a difficult period of restructuring. His concern for the staff and his assiduous promotion of their work ensured that Botany Division, although formally disestablished, survived as a functioning unit within DSIR Land Resources.”

Citation reproduced from the Allan Mere awards book.