Allan Mere Award for 1993:

Dr Elizabeth Edgar (1929–2019)

Elizabeth Edgar, Allan Mere recipient for 1993.
Left: staff photo from Botany Division, DSIR.
Right: photo taken at joint birthday celebration with Brian Molloy on 12 Aug 2010.
Photos: © Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research.

“Dr Edgar joined DSIR in 1953 and has been on the staff of Botany Division since 1959. Regarded as New Zealand’s most experienced monocot taxonomist, she has always generously assisted others. Dr Edgar co-authored Volume II of the Flora of New Zealand series with Dr Lucy Moore, and Volume III with Mr Arthur Healy. She has also completed most of the work for work for Volume V.”

Citation reproduced from the Allan Mere awards book.