Allan Mere Award for 1987:

Anthony Peter Druce (1920–1999)

Tony Druce, Allan Mere recipient for 1987, alongside three previous directors of Botany Division, DSIR: W. Harris, H.E. Connor, and E.J. Godley – all have been awarded the Allan Mere over the years. Photos: © Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research.

“Mr Druce has represented Botany Division in Wellington from 1947 until 1982, with the exception of four years when he was attached to Soil Bureau. A dedicated field worker with unrivalled knowledge of the North Island and Nelson ranges, he has shared his knowledge freely with professional and amateur botanists.”

Citation reproduced from the Allan Mere awards book.